Activities

+ Narrow Your Search
Narrow Your Search:
Category:
Accessible Adventures
Agri-Tourism
Aquatics
Biking
Birding
Bridges of Calumet County
Cave Exploration
Disc Golf Courses
Entertainment
Farmers Markets
Fishing
Golf Courses
Ice Skating
Libraries
Mini Golf
Motor Sports
Museums & Markers
Niagara Escarpment
Religion
Shooting and Archery Ranges
Shopping
Specialty Food and Drink
Wedding and Reception Venues

Here is a riddle for you:

What is sweet and sticky in spring, cool and muddy in summer, full of pumpkins in fall and rubber tubes in winter? That's right--Calumet County, Wisconsin!

Whether getting down and dirty in our caves or angling on Lake Winnebago, we invite you to explore the variety of unique activities and attractions Calumet County offers. There is no other place in Northeast Wisconsin that offers freshly tapped and boiled maple syrup; hundreds of acres of cool waters for fishing; an underground cave system; corn mazes to get lost in; pumpkin hikes, pumpkin walks, pumpkin bowling; thousands of acres for prairie hikes, bird watching, or hunting; and hundreds of screaming children on rubber tubes zipping down a snowy hill in winter. This is what Calumet County calls adventure.

Not exciting enough for you? Rock climb the Escarpment; sleep next to an effigy mound; mountain bike our steep roads; or swim, run, and bike the High Cliff Triathlon.

Not unique enough for you? Come bring your gear and find out why Stockbridge is the Sturgeon Capital of the World; taste why Chilton is host to the Wisconsin Micro-Brewers Beerfest; and nibble your way through a Cheese Derby; or proudly compete in a Cheesehead Run.

Regardless of your preference for adventure, we anticipate you'll enjoy your experience in Calumet County. Please take a moment when you get back home to share your stories and photos with us!

Museums & Markers
Ariens Museum
202 Calumet Street, Brillion
(920) 756-2141    Website | Map

The museum is housed at the Ariens original manufacturing facility in Brillion. It features eight decades of power equipment including two-wheel tractors, snow blowers, lawnmowers, riding lawnmowers, tractors, and commercial mowers and tillers. Some highlights are the 30-inch, 14-horsepower agricultural tiller that founder Henry Ariens produced in his garage in 1933, parachests commissioned by the military for use in the invasion of Italy in WWII, two Ariens® snowmobiles manufactured in the 1970s, and drawing tools, tool chests and drawings from the company founders. Open by appointment only, 7:30 am - 4:30 pm.


Brillion Historical Museum and History House
110 N. Francis Street, Brillion
(920) 756-2373    Website | Map

Museum exhibits include farm machinery, an old fire truck, arrowheads & artifacts, woodworking tools, blacksmith tools and much more! The museum is located behind the History House or "Green Hotel", Brillion's first hotel, built in 1872. No admission, donations appreciated. Operated by the Brillion Historical Society. Open houses are held in February, June, August, September and November. Group tours are available by appointment. Located on N. Francis Street in Brillion. For more information or to schedule an appointment, contact Jane Fuhrmann at omafuhrmann@yahoo.com.


Brothertown Memorial

A monument and wayside at the intersection of Hwys 151 and 55 pay tribute to the first Indians to become United States citizens -- the Brothertowns. Located north of the small Town of Brothertown you’ll find a bit of history and a beautiful resting spot with a panoramic view of Lake Winnebago.


Calumet County Historical Society Museum
N3327 Irish Road, Chilton
(920) 849-4042    Website | Map

Antique machinery, old cars and trucks, and much more. Operated by the Calumet County Historical Society. Open to the public on Sundays from 1-4pm, June through September, or by appointment. For an appointment phone (920) 849-4042 or email calumetcohistoricalsoc@yahoo.com. Located south of Chilton on the corner of Irish Road and Hwy 32/57.


Calumet County Park Historical Features
N6150 County Road EE, Hilbert
(920) 439-1008    Map

Located along the east shore of Lake Winnebago near the county’s fishing villages, Calumet County Park contains historic Indian effigy mounds, and, once was the sight of a brickyard built shortly after the Civil War. The mounds were built by a branch of prehistoric Woodland Indians who lived in the region from 500 B.C to 1000 A.D. For more information on the mounds and other features, contact park staff.

For more information on the park itself, see the "About Calumet County Parks" section in the "County Parks” drop down menu of this website.


Chief Red Bird
N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood
(920) 989-1106    Website | Map

In the 1820’s white settlements were quickly growing in Green Bay and Prairie du Chein. As development occurred, the Winnebago Indians saw their hunting grounds disappearing and their villages destroyed. Close to Prairie du Chein was a friendly Indian village known as Wanick Choute, home of the Red Bird. In 1827 Red Bird received word that members of an ally tribe were murdered by whites at a fort. The village believed the story and demanded vengeance. Red Bird was sent to “take meat” and retaliate. Not wanting to appear a coward, Red Bird decided he would travel the area and proclaim he could find no meat. He did, only to be taunted and named a coward. Red Bird then returned, with others from his village, and attacked the home of a friendly white man he often had visited. The attack resulted in the scalping of three whites and Red bird fulfilling his duty of revenge. Knowing the whites would likewise retaliate; Red Bird decided to prevent further bloodshed and voluntarily surrendered. He was placed in prison where he refused to eat and eventually died almost six months later. The Red Bird monument can be seen looking over Lake Winnebago on the upper ledge of High Cliff State Park.

Park stickers are required to enter the park. Prices are as follows: a daily sticker for a WI resident is $7.00, annual WI resident stickers are $25.00, senior citizen (65+) is $10.00. Non-WI resident daily stickers are $10.00 and non-WI resident annual stickers are $35.00.


Clifton
N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood
(920) 989-1106    Website | Map

Clifton was the name of the area now known as “High Cliff”. Clifton used to be a bustling village with hundreds of folks, most of who worked in the limestone industry. The cliff faces we see today were manipulated by many years ago for the production of limestone. Men would drill holes in the top of the escarpment (the rock ledge), and then blast dynamite in the holes. The dynamite would force the rock to split and crumble. The crumbled rock was then beat with pick axes by men. This tedious task took all day to get the rock into pieces of stone fit to be hauled by rail cars to the limestone kilns which existed (some remnants remain on-site today). Before the use of rail car, horses hauled the limestone to the kilns by carts to the lakeshore some 225 feet below the ledge.

Once processed in the kilns, men used wheel barrows to haul the lime powder to a local Clifton shop where it was then bagged or barreled and shipped across Lake Winnebago. Many came to work the lime stone plant which led to an expanding village with a general store (still present), company office, and post office. The mining operation lasted about 100 years. As available limestone diminished, people moved to the cities for work, and the once busy village began to disappear.

It is hard to believe that in addition to a bustling town, the area loved by today’s park enthusiasts was also loved by loads of people in the 1800’s riding an excursion boat, the “Valley Queen”. People would arrive in droves for picnics and dancing. In the 1920’s the area expanded even more with the addition of an amusement park.

The old general store now serves as a museum recounting the many memories made in Clifton. “Clifton” (High Cliff State Park) is located at N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood.

Park stickers are required to enter the park. Prices are as follows: a daily sticker for a WI resident is $7.00, annual WI resident stickers are $25.00, senior citizen (65+) is $10.00. Non-WI resident daily stickers are $10.00 and non-WI resident annual stickers are $35.00.


Fishing Villages

Old fishing villages dot the state highways which follow the east shore of Lake Winnebago. Travel through Calumetville, Brothertown, Quinney, and Stockbridge and observe much of the old architecture still in tact. The villages are still very popular amongst fishermen and boating enthusiasts. Follow Hwy 151 or Hwy 55 north or south to travel through the villages.


Haese Memorial Village

This historic village is designated a Historic District and is located in Forest Junction at the corner of Milwaukee Street and Randolph Street. The Village was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1982.


High Cliff Effigy Mounds
N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood
(920) 989-1106    Website | Map

Just north of the campground in High Cliff State Park one can view effigy mounds built by nomadic woodland tribes between 1000 A.D. and 1500 A.D. When following the Indian Mound Trail through the woods, the first mound you encounter is a panther mound 285 feet long. The Park has 3 more panther mounds, 2 conical mounds, one lineal mound, and, along a smaller trail, two buffalo mounds. It is believed the shape of the mound signified the status of the family. For example, the buffalo shape is thought to signify the family of a chief. Effigy mounds have always been a mystery. Some mounds were used for funeral purposes which have been found to hold any where from one to many bodies. Others have been found to be empty. Regardless, all mounds were sacred to the tribes that built them and should be treated with respect. None of the mounds at High Cliff have been found to hold remains. A number of mounds elsewhere in Calumet County (Quinney and Brothertown) have been identified and hold human remains.

Additional mounds can be viewed at Calumet County Park, N6150 Cty Hwy EE, Stockbridge. Phone: (920) 439-1008. Park stickers are required to enter the park. Prices are as follows: a daily sticker for a WI resident is $7.00, annual WI resident stickers are $25.00, senior citizen (65+) is $10.00. Non-WI resident daily stickers are $10.00 and non-WI resident annual stickers are $35.00.


High Cliff Museum
N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood
(920) 989-1106    Website | Map

Located in the Old General Store is the High Cliff Museum and Nature Center. The museum has the history of the park, limestone industry, and the history of Clifton--the city that once thrived where the park now exists. Located in High Cliff State Park. Open weekends only with seasonal hours too.

Park stickers are required to enter the park. Prices are as follows: a daily sticker for a WI resident is $7.00, annual WI resident stickers are $25.00, senior citizen (65+) is $10.00. Non-WI resident daily stickers are $10.00 and non-WI resident annual stickers are $35.00.


High Cliff State Park Historical Features
N7630 State Park Road, Sherwood
(920) 989-1106    Website | Map

A limestone quarry and kiln operated at the present site of High Cliff State Park. The lime extracted in the kiln was sent throughout the Midwest for use in plaster, cement, and as a soil additive. Limestone was used for brick mortar and gravel. The lime kilns and other structures are still standing along the Lake Winnebago shoreline. In its heyday, the lime industry supported a small "company town" consisting of 16 houses for workers, a general store, post office, telegraph office, company office, and a tavern. The General Store remains intact and is used today as a museum and refreshment stand. Siouan Indian effigy mounds from 1000-1500 years ago remind visitors of the earlier history of what is now the park. There are four panther-shaped mounds, two buffalo-shaped mounds, conical mounds, and a linear mound. Out of respect and proper care for the mounds, please ask park staff for assistance when traversing the site.

Park stickers are required to enter the park. Prices are as follows: a daily sticker for a WI resident is $7.00, annual WI resident stickers are $25.00, senior citizen (65+) is $10.00. Non-WI resident daily stickers are $10.00 and non-WI resident annual stickers are $35.00.


Lakeside Cemetery

This cemetery contains the remains of over 230 Stockbridge residents from the late 1800’s and early 1900’s. It is located south of Stockbridge on Lakeshore Drive, between Mud Creek Road and Artesian Road. Perhaps the most prominent feature in the cemetery is a huge cottonwood tree. According to the DNR’s Wisconsin Champion Tree list, this cottonwood is the 7th largest tree in Wisconsin!


Pioneer Corner Museum
Pioneer Corner Museum
2103 Main Street, New Holstein
(920) 898-5746    Website | Map

Vintage displays, antique artifacts, a diorama of old New Holstein, New Holstein Civil War soldiers exhibit, streets of New Holstein vignettes, the Fenn Button Collection, Turnverein and Schutzenverein memorabilia and much more. Open Saturdays and Sundays, May through October, from 1-4pm or by appointment. For an appointment, contact the New Holstein Historical Society at (920) 948-7748.

The New Holstein Historical Society is on Facebook!


Portland Historic Site
County Road E, Between Stockbridge and Chilton
(920) 853-3856    Map

Once a thriving community of New England Indians and folks from New York and portions of Vermont, all that remains is a restored church and cemetery. The Portland Cemetery holds the graves of many Civil War soldiers (45) and soldiers (3) from the War of 1812. There is also a church at the site, which was built by settlers who arrived in the 1830’s. An old fashioned Thanksgiving church service is held at the church the Sunday before Thanksgiving. The service is lit by lamps and a wood burning stove is used to provide the heat. A Thanksgiving meal is also served—old world style! In addition, there is a Memorial Day salute to veterans, held on the Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend.


St. Martin Heritage Park
St. Martin Heritage Park
N3298 County Road T, New Holstein
(920) 849-9592    Website | Map

Once the site of St. Martin Catholic Church and located east of Chilton in the Town of Charlestown is St. Martin Heritage Park. Picnic tables and benches are scattered on the sunny lawn and under the shade of trees for convenient relaxation. Inside the St. Martin Heritage Chapel lies the Heritage Museum. The museum contains the history of the former St. Martin Catholic Church and its founders. The existing limestone church was erected in 1876 by ancestors of the community residents and is on the official list of Wisconsin’s State Historic Markers. Today with seating for 225, it offers a truly unique setting for weddings, community, family or corporate events. The Social Hall of St. Martin Heritage Park gives 3200 square feet of opportunity for indoor family fun or serious business. The church, gazebo and social hall are available to rent. Call (920) 849-9592 for more information.


Stockbridge Blacksmith Shop
126 N. Military Road, Stockbridge    Map

The blacksmith shop was operated by Phillip Westenberger and his son Emery. From 1891 to 1915, the business was run out of the old Mission House, a rickety wooden shack constructed in 1834. In 1915, the current building was constructed next door to the Mission House. The Westenberger’s shoed horses, made chisels, repaired chains, put wagon irons on wagon wheels, did iron work for sleighs, and made sturgeon spears in their spare time. Every July 4th, Emery Westenberger would put on a make-shift “fireworks” show. He piled gun powder atop his 150-pound anvil, placed a heavy cover on top of the powder, and lit the powder with a long, heated rod to produce a blast. Emery blasted every hour beginning at 4am and ending at dark. The shop is located in downtown Stockbridge, on the east side of State Highway 55. Although closed, one can still view the architecture and then close their eyes and hear the hammering on the anvil!


Stockbridge Harbor
1919 W Lake Street, Chilton
(920) 439-1008    Map

The Harbor site is listed on both the State and National Register of Historic Places. From about 1100 to 1200 A.D, a large Native American village existed on the north side of the harbor. Pottery uncovered at the site indicates that two tribes lived together in the village—Effigy Mound Builders and Late Woodland agriculturalists. The tribes may have joined forces for safety reasons. They also surrounded their village with a palisade.

The Stockbridge Harbor marker is located west of the Village of Stockbridge off of W. Lake Street/County Road E and south of the Harbor Bar and Grill.


Stockbridge Indian Cemetery

This Stockbridge-Munsee Indian Cemetery was established in 1834, just after the tribe relocated to Stockbridge. Those laid to rest here suffered a series of displacements before arriving in Calumet County. The Stockbridge tribe moved from Massachusetts to New York, Indiana, Kaukauna, and finally to Stockbridge. The Munsee tribe endured a similar journey, beginning in Delaware. The Town of Stockbridge supervisors held the cemetery in trust until 1993, when it was deeded to the Stockbridge-Munsee. Located on the south side of Moore Road, north of the Village of Stockbridge, west of Hwy 55.


Timm House
Timm House
1600 Wisconsin Avenue, New Holstein
(920) 948-7748    Website | Map

This Greek Revival style home from 1873 was restored to its Victorian elegance in 2007. It is one of the best examples of Stick Style design remaining in the Midwest. The house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996. It was originally owned by Hermann Christian Timm and his wife Augusta, immigrants from Germany. The house remained in the Timm family until 1974, during which time very few changes were made to the building. The house is restored to its original condition during the period from 1892 to 1906. Guided tours of both the first and second floor take approximately 45 minutes. The house is open Saturdays and Sundays, May through October, from 1-4pm or by appointment. For an appointment, contact the New Holstein Historical Society at (920) 948-7748. Fee is charged for tours.

The New Holstein Historical Society is on Facebook!
This attraction is an Accessible Adventure.


Union Cemetery

The burial site of Indian ancestors and Civil War veterans. Located along Lake Shore Drive, just south of Ecker Lakeland Drive.