Stockbridge Historical Mural
The imagery in the Stockbridge mural spans 85 yrs. from 1830 through 1915 and is portrayed in a ‘hand-tinted’ image. This style of imagery was a popular technique of the era bringing color into the monochromatic imagery of the day. In the foreground founders Reverend Cutting Marsh can be seen staunchly defending the infamous Stockbridge bible, just to his left is prominent Stockbridge tribe leader John Quinney. Both men fought hard to establish the rights of the Stockbridge-Munsee tribe and promote their transition into Western culture and Christian-based religion. John Quinney’s sister, Electa Quinney can be easily found with a blue shawl as a central focus of the mural. Electa is well known as the first female educator in the State of Wisconsin and resided in Stockbridge for a great deal of her life.
The founding family of the Schumacher’s Shanty, the George Hemauer family can be located once again, looking out over the porched area of the wall. Just below them a carte-de-visite portrait of Miriam Scott of Stockbridge, the sister of E.W. Scott, to the right a tin-type portrait of Ohio native, Isaac Wagner Acker who settle in Stockbridge, can be found in his work attire. Acker served in the 21st Wisconsin during the Civil War. At the time of his enlistment he gave his occupation as a mason, the tools with which he posed, represent that construction trade are visible. Acker was severely wounded at the battle of Champions III and in consequence of disability from his wounds was honorably discharged from service on March 4, 1862.
A local woman boasts her daily catch on a flat hull with her canine companion, and completing the foreground is a tribute to the local brickmaking industry that once flourished in Stockbridge on the shores of Lake Winnebago. The background begins on the left with a tribute to the well-known Native American Old Mission House. The Leander Choate, a local steamboat can be found departing the Stockbridge Harbor and local Menomonee fishing from a canoe, ready to throw his spear into the murky waters, paving the way for modern day Sturgeon spearing in the area. Another sturgeon fisherman boasts his prize. A tribute is given to the IOOF, International Order of Odd Fellows, who helped construct new buildings in the Stockbridge area during this era. The symbol of an “eye” in the upper section of the mission house is reference to the IOOF. All photographic references used were locally based.
Painted by James Barany